ASJA 2016 Award Winners



Alexandra Owens, Executive Director/


April 12, 2016, New York, NY — The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) announces the recipients of its annual writing awards, honoring the outstanding nonfiction work produced on a freelance basis during the past year.

ASJA 2016 Award Winners


Arlene Award for Writing that Makes a Difference: Book
Police Wife: The Secret Epidemic of Police Domestic Violence by Susanna Hope and Alex Roslin (Golden Inkwell Books, 2015)

June Roth Memorial Award for Medical Writing: Book
Malignant: How Cancer Becomes Us by S. Lochlann Jain (University of California Press, 2013)

Biography or History:
Abandoned in HellThe Fight for Vietnam’s Firebase Kate by Marvin J. Wolf (co-author William Albracht; NAL, 2015)

Children’s or Young Adult:

The Boy Who Became Buffalo Bill: Growing Up Billy Cody in Bleeding Kansas by Andrea Warren (Two Lions, 2015)

General Nonfiction:
What Stands In a Storm: Three Days in the Worst Superstorm to Hit the South’s Tornado Alley by Kim Cross (Atria Books, 2015)

The Book of Wanderings: A Mother- Daughter Pilgrimage by Kimberly Meyer (Little, Brown and Company, 2015)

The Debt Escape PlanHow to Free Yourself From Credit Card Balances, Boost Your Credit Score, and Live Debt-Free by Beverly Blair Harzog (Career Press, 2015)

Honorable mention: Writing Well for Business Success: A Complete Guide to Style, Grammar, and Usage at Work by Sandra Lamb (St. Martin’s Griffin, 2015)


Arlene Award for Writing that Makes a Difference: Article
“The Thrift Store Chain That Dressed Up Like A Charity And Got Sued” by Francesca Lyman; InvestigateWest, October 28, 2015

Donald Robertson Award for Investigative Journalism
“(A Brutal Beating Wakes) Attica’s Ghosts” by Tom Robbins; The Marshall Project / The New York Times, February 28, 2015

June Roth Memorial Award for a? Medical Writing: Article
“The Poisoned Gulf” by Linda Marsa; Playboy, June 2015

Blog Post
“A Bittersweet Goodbye as My Firstborn Leaves Home For Good” by Risa Doherty;, Summer 2015

Business/ Technology/ Science
“Automation in the Newsroom” by Celeste LeCompte; Nieman Reports, Summer 2015

Honorable mention: “Every Living Thing” by Emily Sohn; Aeon, August 31, 2015

Excellence in Reporting
“The Sand and the Fury” by Vince Beiser; Wired, June 2015

First Person Experience/ Essays
“Surviving an Alcoholic” by Paula Ganzi Licata; New York Times, May 27, 2015

Health & Fitness
“What Your Doctor Should Know About Women” by Linda Marsa; More, February 2015

Honorable Mention: “Be the Death of Me” by Kate Silver; Chicago Health, Summer 2015

“Forsake the Snake” by Kim Campbell Thornton; UExpress Pet Connection, May 18, 2015
Honorable Mention: “A Policy of Saying No Can Save You Time and Guilt” by Jennifer Breheny Wallace; Wall Street Journal, December 23, 2015

“Born on the Bayou” by Kimberley Lovato; American Way, August 2015

Honorable mention: “Spirits on Safari” by Kim Campbell Thornton; Cigar & Spirits, May/June 2015

Opinion/ Op Ed
“Just an Ordinary Miscarriage” by Candy Schulman; New York Times, October 25, 2015

“A Most Personal Venture” by Gayle Keck; Drew Magazine, Summer 2015
“Meet Andy Raymond” by Eugene Meyer; Bethesda Magazine, Jan/Feb 2015

“The Making of Star Wars: The Force Awakens” by Barbara Robertson; 3D World, December 31, 2015
Honorable mention: “High-Flying Patriotism” by Molly Blake; Air Force Sergeants Association, Sept/Oct 2015

2016 ASJA Awards Committee Co-Chairs: Janine Latus and Salley Shannon

About ASJA

ASJA is the professional association of independent nonfiction writers. Founded in 1948, its more than 1200 members have each met exacting standards of professional achievement.